top of page

Writer's Predictions Part One


Usually when I write an article or piece I like to set the scene, reel off some facts about both fighters and make sure the reader is invested into the piece before I bore them with the more boring parts of why I think fighter A will win. Then try and argue this and sound as non bias as possible. Well.... there is no need to tell you anything more about either of the fighters, and there is no need to set a scene, and (spoiler alert) I can't pick a winner!

So please see below the key points where I think the fight will be decided:

Klitschko Jab and Left Hook Combo

Anthony Joshua showed a vulnerability against Dillian Whyte to a Left Hook and was left buzzed to say the least by one from Dillian Whyte. If WK can administer this and time AJ the fight could well be over by a stoppage.

Anthony Joshua's stamina

The guy is still a Novice in terms of his record and still has yet to go 12 rounds, something Wlad has done many times and also won a lot of his fights by. Rumours suggesting AJ has put on more muscle weight for this fight make me feel uneasy, and also worried he only has one game plan. However I would like to think with Mcracken in his corner this "gung ho" approach would be avoided.

Klitschko's Inactivity

17 months outside of the ring is a huge layoff and that coupled with Wlad advancing in years, it could mean that Wlad's timing might not be there, which it really would need to be against the younger fresher sharpshooter that is AJ who will exploit any weaknesses.

The weather and the change in atmosphere.

Seems a strange one I know, but in open air events the Weather can be important and also have some influence on the fight. Wlad has headlined sold out stadium fights before (although none this size) and is used to the different atmosphere and that's why he should settle into the fight quicker that AJ one would expect; however AJ has shown little signs of being affected by external surrounding as of yet. I have attended a few stadium fights myself and have found it to be quite flat in comparison to a smaller venue where the building keeps the noise contained.

My Prediction or Non Prediction

This really is a fight where youth meets experience and a "crossroads" fight where they really have both crossed paths at the r

ight time in their career trajectory for it to be called a "crossroads" fight. Forgive me for collecting splinters whilst I sit on this fence but I struggle to be able to pick a winner with much conviction.

However my £5 bet will be going on Wladimir or Saturday, for a stoppage win Round 9 at 34/1 , if it comes in, drinks will be on me for the Boxing Banter Team :)

It is a part of history and I hope everyone can enjoy it for the special fight it is, and just appreciate the exposure it's bringing to the sport.


Who's Behind The Blog
Recommended Reading

SkySports Boxing

The Ring Magazine

Boxing Monthly

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Archive
bottom of page