top of page

Writer's Predictions Part Three: Joshua


The conversations amongst our team here at TBB have made it no easier to predict the outcome of this one! Every time someone offers an opinion on the fight it seems valid enough to make you reconsider your previous thought process.

Joshua hasn't been tested by a quality fighter seems to be the main argument against him winning the fight, which is fair. However we have seen him wobbled against Dillian Whyte, and to clarify I am by no means placing Whyte in the same bracket as Klitschko, and come back to produce a devastating knock out.

You then have the argument that Klitschko is no longer the fighter he once was and as a result won't test Joshua either. Based on the Fury fight that's fine, but everyone is entitled an off day. It just so happens that Klitschko's most high profile 'off day' has coincided with him being pretty old. In order to be truly finished I'd say you need more than one off day in a row.

As the fight draws closer I have found it increasingly difficult to split the two of them. I am a big fan of Joshua, and until this fight I have believed he is the real deal- although I have seen so many people saying he isn't it has left me questioning that!

I have never been a fan of Klitschko, I find him boring and him becoming champion once more wouldn't be good for a division that sprung back to life when Tyson Fury shocked the world.

For me, despite all of the talk of Joshua having not been tested by an elite fighter, the same could be said of Klitschko in recent times.

My Prediction

I think that come the end of the fight on Saturday night, the hype will have been justified and Britain will be celebrating a unified Heavyweight champion of the world once more. Klitschko has been stopped before and at this moment in time (my view will probably change again) I can see him being stopped again.


Who's Behind The Blog
Recommended Reading

SkySports Boxing

The Ring Magazine

Boxing Monthly

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Archive
bottom of page