top of page

In Focus: Bradley Smith


The latest edition of In Focus takes a look at a young fighter from Cambridgeshire.

Lightweight Bradley Smith turned professional two years ago and has steadily been chalking up the wins as he negotiates the tricky early stages of a young career. Currently 5-0 Smith, who has two stoppages amongst those wins, is still only 19.

‘It’s going good. I have done everything asked of me and I’m learning with every fight.’ Is Smith’s assessment of his career to date, but it could’ve all been very different had it not been for a conversation with Tommy ‘DaGun’ Martin a couple of years ago.

‘I had a couple of bad decisions in the amateurs and I just had enough. I actually quit boxing!’ Smith tells The Boxing Banter.

‘I sat at home thinking for a couple of months and Tommy said “Why don’t you come up to London and turn over?” So I went up there and fell back in love with the sport.’

Martin, a former English and WBA Continental champion at light-welter, was forced to retire after suffering a bleed on the brain in 2016. The 23 year old has since turned his hand to coaching, and the influence that is having on Smith’s career couldn’t be any clearer when speaking to the rookie fighter about the most inspirational people in his career to date.

‘Tommy Martin. We both come from the same area and he showed me the ropes of the pro game and makes sure I don’t make the same mistakes he made.’

So what of the style that Smith possesses, how would he sell himself to those who may be seeing him in action for the first time when he takes to the ring in MTK London (part of the rebranded Macklin’s Gym Marbella Group) on May 19th?

‘I’m versatile, I can come forward and fight or I can box.’

Whilst he is at the early stages still, the influences of Martin are clear to see when discussing the ambitions that burn bright for Smith.

‘My ambition is the British title…at the absolute minimum!’.

Bradley Smith fights at the Brentwood Centre on May 19th. Tickets start at £40 and more details can be got by contacting Smith directly on Twitter @BradleySmithhh.


Who's Behind The Blog
Recommended Reading

SkySports Boxing

The Ring Magazine

Boxing Monthly

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Archive
bottom of page